skip navigation

Recent Baseball News

2019-2020 Winter Athlete Recognition Awards

By ML Athletic Department 04/17/2020, 11:00am CDT

Congrats to these outstanding Winter Spartan Athletes


With the Winter Season having wrapped up, the Martin Luther Athletic Department would like to recognize and congratulate the following winter athletes on their end of season All Conference and team recognition awards:


Girls Basketball:
Sydney Burris - 1st Team All-Conference and Team Co-MVP
Vanessa Solano - 1st Team All-Conference and Team Co-MVP
Abby Hafemann - Honorable Mention All-Conference and Team Scholar Athlete
Ava Hoppert - Honorable Mention All-Conference and Team Most Improved Player

Boys Basketball
Joey Immekus - 1st Team All Conference and Team MVP and Scholar Athlete
Demerius Shakur - Team Most Improved Player
Tre Burris - Honorable Mention All Conference
Garrett Moore - Honorable Mention All Conference
Ryan Scholfield - Honorable Mention All Conference

Peyton Smith - Team Most Valuable Wrestler & 1st Team All Conference (170 lbs)
Lashawn Wesley-Carter - Most Improved Wrestler & 2nd Team All Conference (220 lbs)
Michael Feist - Team Scholar Athlete & 2nd Team All Conference (152 lbs)
Ben Stiemsma - 1st Team All Conference (138 lbs.)
Austin Williams - 2nd Team All Conference (160 lbs)
Elijah Edlund  -2nd Team All Conference  (182 lbs)
Michael Strohmeyer - 1st Team All Conference (195 lbs)
Justine Hansen - 2nd Team All Conference (285 lbs)

Max Green (Goalie) - Honorable Mention All Conference

Amber Barwa - Team Most Valuable Cheerleader and Scholar Athlete

Olivia Ludwig - Most Valuable Dancer
Makayla Nash - Most Improved Dancer
Cassidy Rice  - Scholar Athlete

Martin Luther Female Wrestler Makes History

By Corey Scheel 01/27/2020, 6:30pm CST

Justine Hansen is State Champion

On Saturday, January 25th, the 2020 Wisconsin High School Girls Championships were held at Wausau West high School, sponsored by the Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association. 

For the fifth year Wisconsin high school girls will take to the mat in the appropriately named Wisconsin High School Girls Championships. The girls event joined the Wisconsin Wrestling Challenge Series in 2016 at Wausau West with 28 girls entered. The number has climbed yearly with 38 entries in 2017, 48 in 2018 and 61 entries in 2019. Nearly 120 girls competed at the 2020 championships. The event was open to all girls on Wisconsin high school wrestling teams. 

According to numbers on girls wrestling numbers on Wisconsin high school teams have grown to over 350 female participants in 2019-2020. The sport of girls wrestling is now recognized in 20 states as an official high school sport. The continued growth of girls’ wrestling in Wisconsin has fans excited. 

Senior wrestlers, Kimi Sanchez and Justine Hansen, who both have wrestled for the past two seasons traveled to Wausau with Coach Romano to represent Martin Luther in the event.  Kimi competed at the 195lb weight class and finished 4th with some hard-fought matches. 

Justine, who ended up wrestling in the combined 220/285 weight class went 2-0 on the day and was Martin Luther's first female wrestling state champion!

Justine has been a huge supporter and pusher of ML girls wrestling and because of the work she has done and the success that she has had, it will keep the sport alive here at ML in the years to come. 

Each of the girls will continue to compete in the WIAA tournament series with the opportunity to wrestle in the WIAA Regional, Sectional and State tournaments.  Girls wrestling continues to grow and in time will be recognized at its own WIAA sanctioned sport, so these ladies can have a level playing field throughout the entire year. 

Special thanks to our wrestling parents who continue to support the sport and push all our young men and women to continue to grow and better themselves. 

2019 Fall Athlete Recognition Awards

By Corey Scheel 12/03/2019, 12:30pm CST

Congrats to these outstanding Fall Spartan Athletes

With the Fall Season having wrapped up, the Martin Luther Athletic Department would like to recognize and congratulate the following  fall athletes on their end of season accomplishments and awards:

Girls Cross Country
Sophia Moravec - Conference Runner of the Year (2nd straight year) - Team Co-MVP
Jordan Koepke - 1st team All-conference - Team Co-MVP
Kathy Moreno - Most Improved Runner
Lauren Jurss - Scholar athlete

Boys Cross Country
Nathaniel Perez-Vega - Team MVP
Miguel Mamawan - Most Improved Runner
Alan Kopitske - Scholar Athlete

Girls Volleyball
Emma Spaciel - Team MVP and Scholar athlete- All-Conference Honorable Mention
Maraya Engstrom - Most Improved
Sydney Burris - All Conference Honorable Mention
Olivia Plewa - All-Conference Honorable Mention

Girls Tennis
Aleksey Hicks - Team MVP - Singles - Honorable Mention All-Conference - singles
Denise Ortiz & Emma Ziebell - Team  MVP's - Doubles - Honorable mention All-conference - doubles
Atiera Hoemke - Most Improved
Abbie Moravec - Scholar Athlete
Caroline Roberts - 2nd Team All Conference -#4 singles
Jailyn Powell - Honorable Mention All-Conference - singles

Boys Soccer
Jesus Altamirano - 1st Team All-Conference
Ben Meaux - Team MVP and Honorable Mention All Conference
Owen Povlick - Most Improved
Inder Pal Singh - Scholar athlete

Brady Hoppert  - 1st Team All conference (QB) - Team Offensive Co-MVP
Sylvere Campbell-1st Team All conference (WR) - Team Offensive Co-MVP
Josh Eggert - 1st Team All conference (K)
Jacob Hartlaub - 1st Team All conference (DB) - Second Team (WR) - Team Defensive MVP
Aundreus Griffin -2nd Team All Conference (WR)
Gavin  Consigny-2nd Team All Conference (OL) - Most Improved
Sam Gabler -2nd Team All Conference (DE)
Michael Strohmeyer  -2nd Team All Conference (DT)
Michale Feist - Honorable Mention (OL) - Scholar Athelte
Octavis Cherry - Honorable Mention (RB)
Rogan Lee - Honorable Mention (OLB)